Distributed Campuses

George Mason University employs a distributed campus structure, meaning that instead of having a main campus and branch campuses focused on duplicating academic offerings, the physical home for a given academic program may be on any one of the three campuses.   Although there is some duplication for convenience, each campus has some distinctive academic programs not replicated elsewhere.  There is a single academic administration for the entire university, rather than separate campus leaders.

  • The Arlington Campus houses the School of Law, the School of Conflict Analysis and Resolution, and the School of Public Policy, as well as other programs.
  • The Fairfax Campus is the largest of the campuses, and is the central home to most of the university’s programs not otherwise specifically named.
  • The Prince William Campus houses major research facilities in the life sciences, the university’s joint certificate and master’s medical education programs with Georgetown University, and also hosts strong undergraduate offerings.

The Office of Regional Campuses provides administrative coordination and oversight across the university’s campuses and other instructional sites.

Questions?  Please contact Tracy Shevlin, Administrative Assistant, Office of Regional Campuses, at 703-993-9755.

About the Office of the Provost
About the Provost and
Executive Vice President
Organization and Staff
Academic Affairs
Academic Integrity
Academic Policy
Academic Program Review
e-MOU Process
Office of the University Registrar
Requesting Confidential Student
Contact Information
SCHEV Program Approvals
Student Academic Affairs,
Advising and Retention
Administration, Personnel & Budget
Faculty Appointments
Graduate Student Appointments
Distributed Campuses
Provost's IT Team
Councils & Committees
Academic Agreement and Project
Advisory Group (AAPAG)
Academic Council/Deans & Directors
Academic Enrollment Planning Team
Collaborative for Undergraduate
Education (CUE)
Confidential Student Contact
Information Committee
Credit Evaluation Advisory Committee (CEAC)
Cross-College Curriculum Committee
Mason Core Committee
Graduate Council
Faculty Senate
University Travel Advisory Committee (UTAC)
Enrollment Management
Strategic Enrollment Management
Division Structure
Enrollment Planning Reports
Student Financial Aid
Academic Enrollment Planning Team
Faculty Affairs & Development
Teaching and Learning
Faculty Appointments
Faculty Mentoring
Faculty Research Support
Faculty Senate and Faculty Handbook
Faculty Study Leave
Department Chair Resources
Global Education
Mason Study Abroad
INTO Mason
Office of Global Strategy
Graduate Education
Graduate Council
Graduate Education-Funded Awards & Grants
Graduate Fellowships
Graduate Student Academic Appeal
Graduate Student Appointments
Graduate Student Life
Subsidized Graduate Student
Health Insurance
Institutional Research & Assessment
Institutional Assessment
Institutional Research & Reporting
Mason Learning Solutions
Online Education
Research & Economic Development
Student Experience Redesign Project
Undergraduate Education
Undergraduate Council
Academic Honor Societies
Adult Completion Programs
Collaborative for Undergraduate
Education (CUE)
Commencement and Convocations
Cross-College Curriculum Committee
Honors College
Mason Core
Robinson Professors
Students as Scholars
Teaching and Learning
Writing Across the Curriculum
University Libraries
University Life