George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University



George Mason University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of George Mason University.

The university’s accreditation was most recently reaffirmed in December 2011, and extends until 2022. The university submitted its Fifth-Year Interim Report in February 2017.

Some individual programs or units also hold specialized, discipline-specific accreditation. A current list of Mason’s programs holding specialized accreditation is provided here

Mason’s accreditation and compliance with the SACSCOC Principles of Accreditation is coordinated by Dr. Matt Smith, Director of Accreditation (

What is Accreditation?

Every ten years, the university engages in the process of reaffirmation of accreditation. This activity takes three years, and involves faculty, staff, and students from across the institution. The process consists of two major components: the compliance certification/self-study -- a comprehensive review of the university’s administration, faculty, and programs -- and a Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) that seeks to develop and enhance student learning and/or student outcomes.

QEP (Quality Enhancement Plan)

Faculty Credentialing

SACSCOC Accreditation Letter

SACSCOC Principles of Accreditation