George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University

Office of Accreditation and Program Integrity

George Mason University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACSCOC) to award bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of George Mason University.

Every ten years, the university engages in the process of reaffirmation of accreditation. This activity takes three years, and involves faculty, staff, and students from across the institution. The process consists of two major components: the compliance certification, a comprehensive review of the university’s administration, faculty, and programs, and a Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) that seeks to develop and enhance the university’s offerings in some particular way. George Mason University most recently chose to focus expanding undergraduate involvement in research in its Students as Scholars initiative.

The university’s accreditation was most recently reaffirmed in December 2011, and extends until 2022. The university submitted its Fifth-Year Interim Report in February 2017.

Individual programs or units may also hold specialized, discipline-specific accreditation.

Accreditation is coordinated through the Office of Accreditation and Program Integrity (OAPI).

SACS Accreditation

Students as Scholars

SACS accreditation letter