George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University

For Department Chairs

Strong departmental leadership is vitally important to George Mason University.

The responsibilities covered by departmental leaders cover the gamut of operations in the academic environment.

Department heads:

  • Oversee teaching quality
  • Maintain and modify applicable educational programs
  • Promote faculty governance
  • Evaluate and support faculty performance
  • Monitor budgets
  • Manage staffing
  • Provide input and suggestions to deans, directors, and the academic community.

George Mason University acknowledges and honors the hard work involved in the tasks of department leaders.

 

Department Leader Rosters:

College of Education and Human Development
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Dean, College of Education and Human Development Mark Ginsberg mginsber 3-2004
Division Director, Advanced Professional Teacher Development and International Education Beverly Shaklee bshaklee 3-2388
Division Director, Child, Family, and Community Engagement Julie Kidd jkidd 3-8325
Division Director, Education Leadership Rob Smith rsmithx 3-5079
Division Director, Educational Psychology, Research Methods, & Education Policy Erin Peters-Burton epeters1 3-9695
Division Director, Elementary, Literacy, and Secondary Education Anastasia Samaras asamaras 3-8154
Division Director, Health and Human Performance Dominique Banville dbanvill 3-3579
Division Director, Learning Technologies Nada Dabbagh  ndabbagh 3-4439
Director, PhD in Education and Human Development Margret Hjalmarson mhjalmar 3-4818
Division Director, Special Education and disAbility Research Pamela Baker pbaker5 3-1787
Division Director, Sport, Recreation, and Tourism  Robert Baker rbaker2 3-3727

 

College of Health and Human Services
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Dean, College of Health and Human Services Germaine Buck Louis glouis 3-1918
Chair, Global and Community Health Robert Weiler rweiler 3-1920
Chair, Health Administration and Policy P.J. Maddox pmaddox 3-1982
Interim Chair, Nutrition and Food Studies Constance Gewa cgewa 3-2173
Chair, Rehabilitation Science Andrew Guccione aguccion 3-4650
Director, School of Nursing Carol Urban curban 3-2991
Chair, Social Work Michael Wolf-Branigin mwolfbra 3-4229

 

College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Interim Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences Robert Matz rmatz 3-8715
Director, African and African American Studies Program Mark Hopson mhopson 3-4414
Chair, Communication Anne Nicotera anicoter 3-1090
Chair, Criminology, Law and Society David Wilson dwilsonb 3-4701
Director, Cultural Studies Denise Albanese dalbanes 3-1160
Chair, Economics Daniel Houser dhouser 3-4856
Chair, English Debra Lattanzi Shutika dshutika 3-1170
Director, Global Affairs Lisa Breglia lbreglia 3-9185
Director, Higher Education Jan Arminio jarminio 3-2310
Chair, History and Art History Brian Platt bplatt1 3-1253
Dean, Honors College Zofia Burr zburr 3-1110
Director, Individualized Study Ken Thompson kthomps4 3-2305
Director, Interdisciplinary Studies Meredith Lair mlair 3-8762
Chair, Modern and Classical Languages Rei Berroa rberroa 3-1228
Chair, Philosophy Rachel Jones rjones23 3-3431
Chair, Psychology Keith Renshaw krenshaw 3-5128
Chair, Religious Studies Abdulaziz Sachedina asachedi 3-5449
Director, Russian and Eurasian Studies James Levine jlevin2 3-1223
Director, School of Integrative Studies Kelly Dunne kdunne 3-1454
Chair, Sociology and Anthropology Amy Best abest 3-1426
Director, Women and Gender Studies Angie Hattery ahattery 3-2897

 

College of Science
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Dean, College of Science Peggy Agouris pagouris 3-9265
Chair, Atmospheric, Oceanic, and Earth Sciences Jim Kinter ikinter 3-5700
Acting Chair, Biology Geraldine Grant ggrant1 3-4292
Acting Chair, Biology Charles Madden cmadden 3-4040
Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry Gerald Weatherspoon grobert1 3-1456
Acting Chair, Computational and Data Sciences Jason Kinser jkinser 3-3785
Chair, Environmental Science and Policy Alonso Aguirre aaguirr3 3-7590
Director, Forensic Science Mary Ellen O'Toole motoole2 3-5059
Chair, Geology and Geoinformation Science Dieter Pfoser dpfoser 3-6029
Director, GeorgeSquared Bill Hahn whahn2 3-7054
Interim Director, Interdisciplinary Program in Neuroscience Saleet Jafri sjafri 3-8420
Chair, Mathematical Sciences David Walnut dwalnut 3-1478
Chair, Physics and Astronomy Paul So paso 3-4377
Director, School of Systems Biology Iosif Vaisman ivaisman 3-8431
Executive Director, Smithsonian-Mason School of Conservation Cody Edwards cedward7 3-4564

 

College of Visual and Performing Arts
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts Rick Davis rdavi4 3-8624
Director, Arts Management Aimee Fullman afullman 3-8719
Director, Computer Game Design Sang Nam snam5 3-4362
Director, Film and Video Studies Giovanna Chesler gchesler 3-1100
Director, School of Art Peter Winant pwinant 3-8385
Director, School of Dance Susan Shields sshields 3-3197
Director, School of Music Linda Monson lmonson 3-5082
Director, School of Theater Ken Elston kelston 3-1120

 

School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Dean, School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution Kevin Avruch kavruch 3-3607
Director, MS Program Agnieszka Paczynska apaczyns 3-1364
Director, PhD Program Terrence Lyons tlyons1 3-1366
Director, Undergraduate and Graduate Certificate Program Mara Schoeny mschoeny 3-9191

 

Schar School of Policy and Government
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Dean, Schar School of Policy and Government Mark Rozell mrozell 3-8171
Senior Associate Dean, Schar School of Policy and Government Judith Wilde jwilde2 3-3873
Associate Dean, Government and International Affairs Ming Wan mwan 3-2955
Associate Dean, Public Policy and Public Administration Robert Dudley rdudley 3-1412

 

School of Business
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Dean, School of Business Maury Peiperl mpeiperl 3-1880
Chair, Accounting JK Aier jaier 3-4546
Chair, Finance Alexander Philipov aphilipo 3-9762
Chair, Information Systems and Operations Management Amitava Dutta adutta 3-1779
Interim Director, Infrastructure Protection and Homeland Security Christie Jones cjones62 3-4792
Chair, Innovation and Entrepreneurship  David Miller dmillerq 3-1768
Chair, Management Richard Klimoski rklimosk 3-1828
Chair, Marketing Laurie Meamber lmeamber 3-1847

 

Volgenau School of Engineering
Title/Unit Name Email Phone
Dean, Volgenau School of Engineering Kenneth Ball ball 3-1500
Chair, Bioengineering Michael Buschmann mbuschma 3-3564
Director, Computer Forensics and Data Analytics Bob Osgood rosgood 3-5443
Chair, Computer Science Sanjeev Setia setia 3-4098
Director, Cyber Security Engineering Peggy Brouse pbrouse 3-1502
Chair, Electrical and Computer Engineering Monty Hayes hayes 3-1569
Chair, Information Sciences and Technology Andre Manitius amanitiu 3-1570
Chair, Mechanical Engineering Oscar Barton obarton2 3-4160
Chair, Sid and Reva Dewberry Dept. of Civil, Environmental and Infrastructure Engineering Sam Salem osalem 3-1687
Chair, Statistics William F. Rosenberger wrosenbe 3-3645
Chair, Systems Engineering and Operations Research John Shortle jshortle 3-3571