George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University

For Department Chairs

Strong departmental leadership is vitally important to George Mason University.

The responsibilities covered by departmental leaders cover the gamut of operations in the academic environment.

Department heads:

  • Oversee teaching quality
  • Maintain and modify applicable educational programs
  • Promote faculty governance
  • Evaluate and support faculty performance
  • Monitor budgets
  • Manage staffing
  • Provide input and suggestions to deans, directors, and the academic community.

George Mason University acknowledges and honors the hard work involved in the tasks of department leaders.

Department Leader Resources:

Chair Roster -- Current Year

College of Education and Human Development

College of Health & Human Services Department Leader Roster

College of Humanities & Social Sciences Department Leader Roster 

College of Science

College of Visual and Performing Arts 

School of Business 

School of Conflict Analysis and Resolution

Schar School of Policy and Government

Volgenau School of Engineering