George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University

Faculty Satisfaction Survey

Mason COACHE Faculty Engagement Initiative

Because of the importance of better understanding faculty engagement and satisfaction at Mason, both the President and the Provost identified launching the COACHE faculty engagement initiative as a goal for the 2018-19 academic year. The Faculty Satisfaction Survey is designed to drill down into specific areas relevant to instructional/research faculty. All Mason tenure-line and full-time term faculty will be asked to participate. The Mason COACHE Leadership Team has oversight for the Harvard COACHE partnership and serve as liaisons to the broader campus community for this initiative.

The Faculty Satisfaction Survey launches the week of February 4, 2019 and closes on April 7, 2019. The Mason COACHE Leadership Team will receive the institutional summary report with aggregate findings in the summer of 2019. Beginning in the AY2019-2020, results will be shared and the leadership team will engage faculty and academic leadership in the interpretation of the findings and to create action plans to address concerns identified by COACHE findings.

The Faculty Satisfaction Survey will be administered again in the spring of 2022 in order to assess the effectiveness and impact of the actions we have taken to address issues and concerns identified in the spring 2019 results. 

Why should I complete a COACHE Faculty Job Satisfaction Survey?

Mason needs to know what you think of your work experience - the level of support you are receiving at work, the reasonableness of your performance expectations, and the kinds of policies that are important to your success. Without this information, it is not very easy to identify our areas of strength as well as areas that can and should be improved.

Because this survey directly addresses issues that can impact policies and strategic planning, it is imperative that you make your views known. This will give academic administrators, centrally and for each of the colleges/schools, an answer to the question: "How well are faculty members doing at Mason?"

The COACHE Survey has a real chance of making a difference. Mason invested in this partnership and paid to participate in the survey because we intend to use the information to strengthen faculty well-being and success. Your answers to the questions in the survey will pinpoint areas that deserve recognition and those that need immediate attention. Because COACHE is a national survey, your answers - after they are compared with those of faculty at peer institutions - will identify areas that are particularly important to Mason in the context of nationwide results. Ultimately, your answers will not only help improve Mason, but other institutions as well.

Survey Administration and Data

COACHE collects data confidentially, only using identities to send reminders to non-respondents, which are not revealed to Mason. Data are analyzed by the COACHE team at Harvard and the Mason COACHE Leadership Team will receive the institutional summary report with aggregate findings in summer 2019 to be shared with the campus community. The Office of Institutional Research and Effectiveness (OIRE) leadership are data administrators for this project at Mason and will receive the data in de-identified form. These records will be held in OIRE and no one in a supervisory or evaluative capacity will have access to individual responses. OIRE leadership can do analysis of the individual-level data, but only aggregate results are shared with administrators and faculty, and only when there are a sufficient number (at least five) of responses to protect the anonymity of respondents. The de-identified data could be used for future research without additional consent from participants. For information on Mason IRB credentials, please reference IRBNet: 1364078-1. 

Please reach out with any additional questions to Faculty Affairs and Development or the COACHE team

 

COACHE Leadership Team Roster
Name Unit/Office Email
Kim Eby (co-chair) Faculty Affairs and Development keby1
Jaime Lester (co-chair) College of Humanities and Social Sciences jlester2
Kate Astor  Human Resources and Payroll kastor
Supriya Baily College of Education and Human Development sbaily1
Angela Detlev Institutional Research and Effectiveness adetlev
John Dooris Institutional Research and Effectiveness jdooris
Cameron Harris School of Business charris
Alexandra Masterson College of Science amaster2
Eunkyoung Park Institutional Research and Effectiveness epark21
Brian Platt College of Humanities and Social Sciences bplatt1
Shernita Rochelle Parker Human Resources and Payroll srochell
Solon Simmons School of Conflict Analysis and Resolution ssimmon5
Ariela Sofer Volgenau School of Engineering asofer
Jennifer Victor  Schar School of Policy and Government jvictor3
Martha Wescoat-Andes College of Science mwescoat
Julian Williams Compliance, Diversity and Ethics jwilli89