George Mason University
George Mason University Mason
George Mason University

Term Faculty Information

Mason would be unable to thrive without our term faculty. We must recognize term faculty contributions in a systematic and inclusive way.

With term faculty making up a significant portion of full-time instructional and full-time research faculty, it is critical to create and maintain an environment that values term faculty members’ work and contributions to Mason’s teaching and scholarly communities and its national reputation. Mason strives to be an institution where term faculty are supported in reaching their professional and career goals. Term faculty contribute to campus life and institutional success in a wide variety of ways, such as teaching, advising students, providing administrative leadership, university service, and more. 

New to Campus? 

Read about Important Policies for Faculty


Term Faculty Task Force

The Term Faculty Task Force convened in spring 2017 to explore the opportunities for career development for term faculty at Mason and to address their concerns and challenges. The Task Force presented its final report and recommendations to the Provost in December 2018. 

Mission & Charge: The Term Faculty Task Force was charged with identifying challenges and difficulties, as well as career development and advancement opportunities for term faculty, and generating recommendations to address those challenges and opportunities. 

Among the myriad issues related to the well-being of our term faculty, the task force addressed such issues as compensation, release time, promotion, contract lengths, responsibilities and expectations, performance evaluation, and others as appropriate.

Term Faculty Task Force Final Report

The Term Faculty Task Force presents its final report and recommendations. 

Read Now

Term Faculty Task Force Roster
Name Department Title Email
Kim Eby (co-chair) Faculty Affairs and Development Associate Provost keby1
John Cantiello* (co-chair) Health Administration and Policy Associate Professor jcantiel
Karen Alcalde   Board of Visitors (BOV) representative  
Laurence Bray* Bioengineering Associate Chair lbray2
Brian Fitzpatrick* English Assistant Professor bfitzpa2
Al Fuertes* School of Integrative Studies Associate Professor afuertes
Michelle Lim Human Resources and Payroll HR Faculty Initiatives Manager mlim1
Joseph Marr* Computational and Data Sciences Associate Professor jmarr2
Cindy Parker* Management Assistant Professor cparker8
Keith Renshaw  Psychology and Faculty Senate Chair krenshaw
Larry Rockwood Biology Chair  lrockwoo
Ellen Rodgers  College of Education and Human Development  Associate Dean erodger1
Girum Urgessa Civil, Environmental, and Infrastructure Engineering Associate Professor gurgessa


* denotes term faculty member